Drifting Cities

A Trilogy
Συγγραφέας : Τσίρκας, Στρατής, 1911-1980
Μεταφραστής : Τσιτσέλη, Καίη, 1926-2001
Εκδότης : Κέδρος
Έτος έκδοσης : 1995
ISBN : 978-960-04-1141-6
Σελίδες : 710
Σχήμα : 21x14
Κατηγορίες : Νεοελληνική πεζογραφία - Μυθιστόρημα - Μεταφράσεις στα αγγλικά
Σειρά : Modern Greek Writers

22.43 € 15.48 €

This trilogy, "The Club", "Ariagni", "The Bat", is the saga of three cities - Jerusalem, Cairo and Alexandria - which are drifting towards chaos in a war-torn Middle East. At its centre is Manos: poet, lover of life, man of intellect and integrity, hero of the Greek war against the Italian invasion, now deserting the national army to join the leftists in the clandestine struggle against the Greek fascists and royalists. Underground operations lead him from city to city, involving him in a chain of shifting and perilous relationships and Manos is forced to choose between his humanist impulses and the brutal dictates of ideological orthodoxy. Combining an exotic brilliance of detail reminiscent of Durrell's Alexandria novels with the sweep and historical passion of Malraux, Stratis Tsirkas has, with "Drifting Cities", established himself as a novelist of international importance.

e-mail Facebook Twitter